Header Links
Kerala Catholic Council
Untitled Document
Untitled Document

Cardinal Baselios Mar Cleemis

Adv. Joji Chirayil,

Dr. Raimon
Vice President

K.V. Chacko
Vice President

Dr. Giby Geevarughese
Vice President

Prof. Dr. K.E. George

Nesan G
Joint Secretary

Shaji Mahew
Joint Secretary

Untitled Document

Image carousel generated by WOWSlider.com
  • 1
  • 2

Kerala Catholic Council is the representative body of the Bishops, Priests, Religious and Laity of the Catholic Church in Kerala.  This Council of Kerala is the regional body of Catholic Council of India (CCI) coming under the Kerala Catholic Bishop’s Council.


The 5th Annual General Body Meeting of the Kerala Catholic Council was held at 10 am on 9th December 2014 at Pastoral Orientation Centre, Palarivattom, Kochi, the secretariat of KCBC. It was presided over by Major Archbishop His Eminence Moran Mor Baselios Cardinal Cleemis Catholicos, the President of the Kerala Catholic Council. The Major Archbishop His Eminence Mar George Cardinal Alencherry inaugurated the Council Meeting and the ‘Year of the Consecrated’. Archbishop Mar Joseph Perumthottam (KCBC Vice president), Archbishop Most Rev. Dr. Soosa Pakiam, Bishop Dr. Joseph Kariyil (KCBC Secretary General), KCBC Deputy Secretary General Rev. Fr. Varghese Vallikkatt, KCMS President Rev. Fr. Thomas Manjakunnel, Kerala Catholic Council Joint Secretary Dr. Mary Regina, were felicitated the meeting. Dr. Varghese Malpan led the sessions and Rev. Sr. Maria Anto CMC, Rev. Fr. Koshi Chirakarot,    Dr. Edward Edezhath made their response. Thereafter Adv. Ghosh Yohannan, KCC joint secretary presented the report of the last Annual General Body meeting. After the discussion, report was passed unanimously by the General Body.

Rev. Fr. Varghese Vallikkatt, KCC Secretary General presented the election procedure and responsibility of the office bearers. The members gave their suggestions on the election procedure and pointed out the current issues facing the Church. Zero hour was very lively, members again analyzed the present socio political situation in Kerala.



Kerala Catholic Council is the body of Bishops, representatives of Priests, Religious and Laity of the Catholic Church in Kerala. This Council is the Regional Body of Catholic Council of India (CCI), which is an organ of CBCI. K C C is functioning under the Kerala Catholic Bishop’s Council as its Pastoral Council. 
Inauguration of 8th Annual General Body Meeting
The 8th Annual General Body Meeting of the Kerala Catholic Council was held from 9am on 5th December 2017 at Pastoral Orientation Centre, Palarivattom, Kochi. His Grace Abp. Dr. M. Soosa Pakiam, President of KCBC & KCC inaugurated the General Body Meeting. Bp. Dr. Yoohanon Mar Chrysostom, Vice President KCBC presided over the meeting. Abp. Mar Mathew Moolakkattu Secretary General of KCBC welcomed the gathering and Rev. Dr. Varghese Vallikkattu, Deputy Secretary KCBC proposed vote of thanks. In the seminar followed, Rev. Dr. Sooraj Pittappallil presented the topic; United in Diversity for a Mission of Mercy and Witness. The members actively participated in the discussions on the theme presented. The meeting expressed deep concern, prayers and condolences on the ockhi cyclone that affected in the coastal area of Kerala. 

Annual General Body Meeting
The KCC convened its 8th Annual General Body Meeting in the afternoon under the presidentship of His Grace Abp Dr. M. Soosa Pakiam. Mr. V.C. Georgekutty presented the report and it was unanimously passed. The newly ordained Bishops Mar Sebastian Vanniapurackal, Mar Joseph Pamplany, Mar Thomas Tharayil, and Mar Tony Nelankavil were specially honoured in the function. 
The new office bearers and executive members for the 3rd Kerala Catholic Council were elected from the general body. Adv. Joji Chirayil (Changanacherry) was elected as the secretary. The other office bearers are; joint secretaries Mr. G. Nesan (Neyyattinkara), Mr. Shaji Mathew (Thiruvalla), vice presidents, Dr. Rayimon S (Thiruvanamthapuram), Dr. Chacko Kalamparambil (Thamarassery), Dr. Giby Geevarughese (Thiruvanamthapuram), and treasurer Dr. George K.J (Bethery). The executive committee of KCC consist of 23 members including the president Abp Dr. M. Soosa Pakiam, Secretary General Rev. Dr. Varghese Vallikkatt and the other office bearers stated above. 
During the general discussion the house analyzed various socio-political-religious-matters in Kerala. The members presented their suggestions and observations. KCC submitted its resolutions on four heads (political matters, social witnessing, media vigilance and youth affairs) to the KCBC. The president Abp Dr. M. Soosa Pakiam offered concluding remarks and message. Secretary Adv. Joji Chirayil proposed vote of thanks and the meeting came to an end at 4 pm with prayers. 
Executive Committee Meetings
1. The first executive meeting of the 3rd KCC was held on 5/12/17 at 4 pm, in POC. Secretary General of KCC Rev. Dr. Varghese Vallikkatt presided over the meeting. He explained the programs of golden jubilee celebrations of POC. He requested the whole hearted participation of the members in the regional pastoral council meetings to be held. 
2. The second executive meeting was held on 10/11/18 at 3 pm, in POC. Rev. Dr. Varghese Vallikatt presided over the meeting. Secretary Adv. Joji Chirayil presented the report of last meeting. The agenda and topics for discussions in the next Annual General Body Meeting were finalized during the meeting. It was also proposed to ensure representation from Laity leaders, youth and consecrated to participate in the KCC general body meeting for its effectiveness. 
Other Activities 
1. Kerala Catholic Council submitted its resolutions and recommendations to the KCBC on four heads, political matters, social witnessing, media vigilance and youth affairs. 
2. The KCC members actively participated in the regional meetings of pastoral council members organized by POC in-connection with its jubilee celebrations. The meetings were held on 16/12/17 at Chaithamya Pastoral Centre Kottayam, on 13/4/18 at Carmel School Vazhuthakadu, and on 23/6/18 at POC Ernakulam. 

Adv. Joji Chirayil
Secretary KCC